1977-2000

In the 1990-ies, during the years of economic crisis, the plant kept on creating new products. In 1997 the plant made 2 prototype passenger electric locomotives 200 (a. c.) rated 8000 kW with operating speed of 200 km/h maximum and design speed of 250 km/h. These electric locomotives were the first high-speed passenger electric locomotives of domestic production.

 

 

In the late 1990-ies the plant initiated re-engineering of diesel locomotives of the Ministry of Railways of Russia (). Locomotive re-engineering included replacement of obsolete engines by more efficient and reliable engines 49 produced by Kolomensky Zavod. The replacement of engines permitted to extend locomotive service life up to 15-20 years.

Comparative tests of diesel engines of Kolomensky Zavod and leading engine producers Krupp-MaK and Caterpillar in German locomotives 232 in the late 1990-ies reaffirmed high reliability, fuel efficiency and easy maintenance and repair of engines produced by Kolomensky Zavod. German Railways chose engines D49 produced in Kolomna for re-engineering of their diesel locomotives.

1977-2000

В период российского экономического кризиса 1990-х годов, разработка новой техники на Коломенском заводе не прекращалась. В 1997 году заводом изготовлены два опытных образца пассажирского электровоза переменного тока ЭП200 мощностью 8000 кВт с максимальной скоростью в эксплуатации 200 км/ч, конструкционной скоростью по экипажу – 250 км/ч. Они являются первыми пассажирскими скоростными электровозами отечественного производства.

 

 

В конце 90-х годов по инициативе Коломенского завода была начата ремоторизация тепловозного парка МПС России – замена технически и морально устаревших двигателей на более экономичные и надежные коломенские двигатели типа Д49. Установка новых двигателей продлевает срок эксплуатации тепловозов на 15-20 лет.

Сравнительные испытания дизелей Коломенского завода и ведущих мировых производителей «Мак-Крупп» и «Катерпиллер», проведенные в конце 1990-х годов на однотипных тепловозах типа 232 в Германии, подтвердили высокую надежность коломенских дизелей, их топливную экономичность, простоту технического обслуживания и ремонта. В результате этих испытаний Немецкие железные дороги для модернизации своего тепловозного парка выбрали коломенские двигатели типа Д49.